Coding – basically a basic platformer

My first individual Flash game 😀 be amazed!

Now, I know to many this will look like zomg, it’s *awful/too simple/noob*, but this is what I’m currently working on for Chris Janes’ lecture on Flash and its applications in real life game design.

Long story short, I’m doing a platformer. This is what I’ve got till now. I will update when I manage the issues and actually add stuff to it other than a black ball and some red platforms.

Stuff to do till I’ll give it an “MVP” (Minimum viable product) from my point of view:

  • proper collision with the platforms. No more jumping through them
  • a death condition
  • edges
  • a win condition

That would be my MVP. Hopefully I’ll get to MVP early next week, now that I have the engine done.

To be considered for after the Christmas break:

  • proper graphics
  • a preloader/main menu + other screens
  • polish the one level that I have

Hopefully all that will be done in January. The release is in February, so here’s the final stuff I want to work on:

  • 2 more levels
  • a cutscene/something that tells the story.

I can’t wait for your comments on my daring adventure!

Wiz out.

Leave a comment